Search This Website

Tuesday, 10 November 2020

Will Mumbai's form break IPL pattern ?

Will Mumbai's form break IPL pattern ?:Every leap year since the inception of the league, a new name emerges as the champion. Will Delhi Capitals continue the trend of in-form Mumbai lifting the trophy for the fifth time?

After 56 league matches and 3 play-off matches, Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will clash for the title in Dubai today. While the defending champions are favorites to win the trophy for the fifth time, Delhi, the second strongest team in the tournament, will give their all on the field to lift the trophy for the first time. With this match, all eyes will be on a pattern that has been going on since the beginning of the IPL.

Every lip yare a new name champion as emerged is the

The IPL started in Leap Year 2008. If you don't know, let's say the leap year comes every four years. It has one more day in a year, i.e. 366 days instead of 365 days.

 Every leap year such a team becomes champion for the first time. Rajasthan Royals became champions in 2008, Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012, Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016. 

 Also, read  Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana 2020

This was the first time in each of the above-mentioned teamlip years that a champion emerged. 2020 is also a leap year and the Delhi team has never been a champion. They will play in the final for the first time. 

So will the new name "Delhi Capitals" become the champion this time as well? Or will Mumbai break this pattern?

It is to be noted that the franchise Deccan Chargers team was previously playing for Hyderabad City under Deccan Chronicle. The Chargers became champions in 2009. 

The franchise was subsequently suspended. Then Sun TV bought it. The owner and name of Sunrisers Hyderabad are different. Thus, every leap year the newly named team becomes the champion, the order is maintained, so there is no need to be confused between Deccan and Sunrisers. 

According to the official website of the IPL, Sunrisers Hyderabad has won the title only once in 2016. Deccan Chargers becoming champions in 2009 do not count for Sunrisers.

Also read  How To Convert Apl Ration Card To Bpl Ration Card-Gujarat

Every leap year a team becomes champion for the first time

2008: Rajasthan Royals
2012: Kolkata Knight Riders
2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad
2020: ? Delhi Capitals?

Mumbai has become the champion in the odd year itself

After beating Delhi in both the matches of the league round this season, Mumbai also beat them badly in Qualifier-1. Will it take a 4-0 lead against Delhi in IPL 2020? Mumbai itself has never been an even year champion. They have become champions in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. They lost by 22 runs against Chennai in the final of the Even Year in 2010.

Continuing fourth year in the final 30na margin with teams clashed

For the fourth year in a row in the IPL, two teams are playing in the final, winning or losing all three matches against each other in the league and play-offs. In 2017, Mumbai emerged victorious in the final after losing both the league and qualifier-1 against Rising Pune Super Giants. In 2018, Chennai beat Hyderabad in both league matches and qualifier-1. 

Then in the final, CSK also beat Hyderabad, while last year, Mumbai beat Chennai in qualifiers-1 and in the final after beating them in both the league matches.

 It remains to be seen whether Mumbai will beat Delhi 4-0 this time or whether Delhi will avenge all three matches by winning one.

No comments: